Quickie: National Symphony Orchestra at the Kennedy Center, December 3, 2009

I went to the National Symphony Orchestra’s concert under guest conductor Andrew Litton tonight, but because I need to go to my job that is not writing about classical music tomorrow, I cannot review it in full right now. Meanwhile, you may be wondering whether to skip work on Friday to go to the afternoon show, or whether to wander over to the KenCen Saturday eve for the final rendition of this program. So here’s a quick summary:

  1. Rimsky-Korsakov’s Snow Maiden Suite: Piquant but direly under-rehearsed. If they can fix it for Friday and Saturday, it is fun music to listen to.
  2. Jennifer Higdon’s world-premiere piano concerto with Yuja Wang as soloist: Repetitive, unidiomatic for the instrument, harmonically banal. A major disappointment from a major American composer.
  3. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony no. 1 (“Winter Daydreams”): Well-played, big-boned Romantic fun. Not great music but extremely entertaining in this performance.

More complete thoughts coming tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Concert review

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: